Football: Trabzonspor win Turkish Cup

Must Read


Trabzonspor shutout Aytemiz Alanyaspor on Wednesday to win the 2020 Ziraat Turkish Cup. 

Trabzonspor took the lead when Norwegian forward Alexander Sorloth crossed the ball into the goal area and Turkish midfielder Abdulkadir Omur flicked it into Alanyaspor’s net for the 1-0 score.

In injury time in the second half, Alanyaspor forward Papiss Cisse’s equalized with header but the goal was disallowed because of an offside call.

Near the end of the match, Sorloth added an insurance goal on a counterattack at Istanbul’s Ataturk Olympic Stadium for the 2-0 win.

In the second half, Trabzonspor left back Filip Novak faced a serious head injury and was taken to hospital.

Omur was named the man of the match. Trabzonspor’s Turkish goalkeeper Ugurcan Cakir and Argentine midfielder Jose Sosa lifted the trophy during the cup ceremony.

Trabzonspor has won the Turkish Cup nine times as the Black Sea club previously claimed it in 1977, 1978, 1984, 1992, 1995, 2003, 2004 and 2010.

It was Alanyaspor’s first final, returning home with a silver medal.

Galatasaray has the most trophies in Turkish Cup history with 18.

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Turkey rescues 32 asylum seekers in Aegean

BALIKESİR- Anadolu Agency Turkey rescued...

Pressure piles up on Turkey ahead of EU leaders’ meeting

ANKARA: European pressure is piling up on Turkey ahead of a meeting next week about the country’s activities in the eastern Mediterranean, with the European...

‘Iran, Turkey need to coop. against threats at joint border’

Iran's Deputy Interior Minister for Security Affairs Hossein Zolfaghari held a phone conversation with Turkish Deputy Interior Minister Mohtaram Injeh on Friday. During the phone...

More Articles Like This